Obtaining Office Systems Recognition

Why Get Office Systems Recognition?

Office systems recognition is becoming an evermore important part of successful practices around the state.  In addition to a growing number of patients who say electronic health records (EHRs) are an important factor for them when picking a practice, employers and payers are increasingly aligning their payments to reward providers that have proven they have systems in place to deliver high quality health care.

Office Systems Recognition Grid

CMS Meaningful Use – Stage 1 Better
NCQA PCMH Level 1 Better
NCQA PCMH Level 2 or 3 Best
BTE Medical Home Best

NCQA Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH)

Note: Practices participating in NCQA recognition programs for either the Patient-Centered Medical Home Pilot or for PTE reporting are eligible for a discount code.  Please contact pte@mehmc.org to obtain the code.

The NCQA PCMH recognition is for practices that provide first contact, continuous, comprehensive, whole person care for patients across the practice, and it translates to either a Better or Best rating on www.getbettermaine.org, depending on which level or recognition is achieved.  Practices that do not use the “Whole Person” care model should seek NCQA PPC recognition.

Costs for PCMH recognition and the add-on survey are the same as the Physician Practice Connections program (see above), and the 20% discount for sponsored practices also applies.

For more information on NCQA PCMH recognition, click HERE.

Bridges to Excellence Medical Home (BTE-MH)

The BTE-MH recognition recognizes effective systemic office processes with positive patient outcomes, and it translates to a ‘Best’ on www.getbettermaine.org. In order to achieve the BTE-MH recognition a practice must:

  • Achieve NCQA PCMH level 1 or 2 recognition or have a meaningful use certified electronic medical record system; AND
  • Achieve level 2 or 3 recognition in any two BTE Care Recognition Programs (i.e., Asthma, Cardiac, COPD, etc)

For more information on BTE-MH recognition, click HERE.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Meaningful Use (MU)

For clinicians that are Medicare Eligible and participating in the Electronic Health Records (EHR) Incentive Program, CMS requires meaningful use of certified EHR technology.  Stage 1 CMS Meaningful Use recognition translates to a Better on www.getbettermaine.org, and it is valid for one year.

For more information on CMS Meaningful Use recognition, Click HERE.

For more information on MaineCare Meaningful Use recognition, click HERE.